Tags

,

Yea I know corny title but anyhoo …

Last week in our entrep class, my classmates and I had to do a mock pitch for the various business ventures wee created.

This process has got to be the most wonderful yet painful thing I could ever experience. This is a business venture that you created from the heart and soul and it is naturally something you are passionate about.

To come up with an idea with group members presents a whole different picture. Not only is there one passionate person but now there are at least five passionate persons.

When I talk about painful, I meant the pitching aspect of the project. This is an idea that you came up with your team members; one that is in its baby stages.

For you to become vulnerable enough to present your little idea to a panel of professionals (WITH MONEY) who may have a vested interest in your company is sooooo scary.

You have to show these people that yes you have a pretty awesome idea and you will need help in getting it off the ground. This is probably the most important 5 minutes in your entire life. These 5 minutes could make or break.

This course and this particular activity has taught me A LOT! It has taught me to be creative, it has taught me to work with others, it taught me about presenting to an audience and most importantly it has taught me to be more open and vulnerable.

I’ve come to realise that in order for you to be successful in business and in LIFE you have to learn to ask for help, learn to listen to others and just be passionate about what you do.